Manni Awards


One of the special things about Manitou Springs is our community’s willingness to help. This is evidenced throughout all demographics of our town—at the personal level all the way up to our local government and nonprofits. Our collaborative spirit is demonstrated in the way important social institutions of the city work together and come together. It is rare to find a town in which the city government, school district, chamber of commerce, local newspaper, local arts organizations, citizens, businesses, nonprofits and even the local philanthropic foundation work together to acknowledge the people who go out of their way to help others and make the town better. 

But that’s exactly what the Manni Awards do. Once a year, Manitou Springs has a celebration and potluck dinner to recognize community leaders, volunteers, and champions who have given outstanding service and demonstrated their ability to collaborate and inspire others to manifest Manitou’s community vision. The sponsors of this year’s Manni Awards are the Manitou Springs City Government; Chamber of Commerce, Visitors Bureau and Office of Economic Development; Manitou Springs School District 14; Sixty35 Media; Creative Alliance Manitou Springs (CRANE); and the Manitou Springs Community Foundation. 

Each year, the awards committee asks the public for nominations of people who are making a positive difference in their neighborhood and town. They look at what has been accomplished in the last years by residents, businesses, and employees. Who, through volunteering their time and talent, going above and beyond, have made Manitou a better place because of their selfless service.     

Each year, a different local or regional artist creates a unique design for the Manni Award. 

It is amazing that Manitou Springs can maintain its sense of small-town connection while sharing it with our summertime tourists and larger neighbor to the east. We actively work to respect our differences and to find solutions to our small town problems and beyond. It takes a lot of listening and compromise to get things done right. Mistakes are often made and corrected. Trust must be grown slowly by working together and helping each other over time. The sponsors of the Manni Awards have learned to do just that and the process reminds us all that it is the power of the people that keeps Manitou strong. 

The Manni Awards are given in 10 categories, based on the community visions stated in the town's master plan. The categories are: Artistic Endeavors, Education and Learning, Environmental Stewardship, Business and Economic Vitality, Health and Well-being, Community Champion, Public Service, Movers and Shakers, Youth Visionary Leadership, and Adult Visionary Leadership.   

To RSVP, please visit the Manni Awards Webpage.

Manni Awards Winners & Finalists

The 2023 Manni Awards, a community celebration recognizing leaders and champions who have made a difference in Manitou Springs, are taking place on March 23 at 5:30 PM. Be sure to register before then!

Congratulations to the four members of City Staff who were nominated: Chief Bill Otto, Hannah Van Nimwegen-McGuire, Alex Trefry, and Meghan Weiss!

Once the finalists have been decided, this webpage will be updated.

To RSVP, please visit the Manni Awards Webpage.


Molly Wingate:  Rockey Artistic Endeavors 

Vi Gaunce: Education and Learning

Melody Daugherty: Environmental Stewardship

Armadillo Ranch: Business and Economic Vitality

Randy Perkins: Public Services

Abby Parker: Youth Visionary Leadership

Drum Circle of Manitou SpringsHealth and Wellbeing

Becca Sickbert : Mover and Shaker

Ralph Routon: Community Champion

Laura and Lyn Ettinger Harwell: Visionary Leadership


Navaratine, Alain and Maria: Charles Rocky Artistic Endeavors

Wren, Spencer: Business & Economic Vitality

Davis, Becca: Public Service

Faucette, Paula: Education & Learning

Salladay, Caden: Youth Visionary Leadership

Mussi, Lisa: Environmental Stewardship

Yager, Peggie: Health and Well-being

Maio, Michael: Community Champion

Smith, Gary: Civic Achievement

Minch, Neale: Visionary Leadership


Bredvik, De Lane: Rockey Award for Artistic Endeavor

Delwiche, Alan: Lifetime Community Champion

Fatt, Danu: Environmental Stewardship

Forsett, John K.: Public Service

Kezziah, Tweed, and Susan Watkins: Civic Achievement

Lowe, Se’amus: Youth Visionary Leadership

Manitou Brewing: Business and Economic Vitality

Marquardt, Christi: Education and Learning

Merrin, Rev. Susie: Health and Well-being

Schmitt, Annie: Visionary Leadership


Chaney, Roy: Public Service

David, Gwenn: Business and Economic Vitality

Edmundson, Douglass Keithley: Visionary Leadership

Elder, Becky: Environmental Stewardship

Koerner, Bill: Lifetime Community Service

Miller, Tracy: C.H. Rockey Award for Artistic Endeavor

Moran, Pat: Outstanding Educational Accomplishment

Omi, Jayden: Student Leadership

Shogren, Tracy: Civic Achievement

Tudor, Kat, and Don Goede: Health, Healing and Well-being


Baker, Rich and Linda: Civic Achievement

French, Kevin: Public Service

Haas, Tim: Business and Economic Vitality

Kurschner, Dan: Health and Well-being

Loftin, Melissa: Education

Nichols, Ann: Community Champion

Plush, Nathan: Youth Visionary Leadership

Stuart, Dan: Visionary Leadership

Wells, Andy: Humanitarian

Wilson, Nancy: Environmental Stewardship (couldn’t attend – have no closeup photos)

Wong, Mark: C.H. Rockey Artistic Endeavors


Buller, Rachel: Business and Economic Vitality

Fortuin, NancyEnvironmental

Gillis, Mark: Public Service

Heiniger, Mo: Youth Visionary Leadership

Ito, Chifumi: Civic Achievement

Johnson, Natalie: Visionary Achievement

Morrow, Kathleen: Health and Well-being

Rykovich, George: Education

Snyder, Kelly: Community Champion

Wood, Steve: C.H. Rockey Artistic Endeavors


Garrison, Joanne: Lifetime Humanitarian

Heidenrich, Debbie: Lifetime Education Achievement

Hokanson, Del: Health & Well-being

Jaray, Ken: Adult Visionary Leadership

Milar family/The Keg: Business Vitality

Morrison, Marcy: Lifetime Public Service

Snyder, Marc: Public Service

Toll, Shanti and Coreen: Environmental Stewardship

Vestal, ChrisEntrepreneurship 

Walters, Brad: Civic Achievement

White, Samantha: Youth Visionary Leadership

Wright, Julia: Charles Rockey Artistic Endeavors


Anthony, Michelle: Civic Achievement

Bell, Oliver: Youth Visionary Leadership

Elder, Jack and Ben Kuckel: Rockey Artistic Endeavors

Johanson, Rod: Lifetime Education Achievement

Manitou Springs Volunteer Fire Department: Public Service (Rev. David Hunting accepted)

McDonough, Farley and David: Business Vitality

Purna, Joy: Adult Visionary Leadership

Rockey, Charles: Lifetime Artistic Achievement

Sharpton, Terry and Dave Wolverton: Environmental Stewardship


Beebe, Julie: Youth Visionary Leadership

Wood, Laurie: Adult Visionary Leadership


Chorpenning, David: Adult Visionary Leadership

Mohon, Megan: Youth Visionary Leadership