The Planning Department enforces the Zoning Code, Subdivision Code, Sign Code and Historic Preservation regulations for the City of Manitou Springs. We also provide Staff support for many of the City's Boards and Commissions, including:

Historic Preservation Commission (HPC)

Open Space Advisory Committee (OSAC)

Parking Authority Board (PAB)

Planning Commission (CPC)

Urban Renewal Authority Board (URA)

Parks, Open Space & Trails(POST)

Plan Manitou

Manitou Springs Forward Vision and Planning Guide 

Manitou Springs has a Short-term vacation rental hotline

1-435-STR-HELP (1-435-787-4357)

This hotline is staffed 24/7 and is only for short-term rental

compliance concerns.

Vacation Rentals Map (Last update: 1/25/2017)


      Pending Applications :

Vacation Rental Ordinance     

Minor Conditional Use Permit Process  

Vacation Rental Application Packet 


Click here for more information. 

NEW FOR 2017:

  • The Planning Department now requires electronic submission of packets for Planning Commission and Historic Preservation.  Please submit packets to  Please call 719-685-4398 if you have any questions.
  • In 2016, Pre-Application appointments will be required a minimum of 10 business days prior to submission deadline.  Click here to see the Historic Preservation 2016 Calendar.  Click here to see the Planning Commission Calendar.  Please call the Planning Department at 719-685-4398 to schedule your appointment. 


This web page is designed to help answer questions about what we do and how we can help you in your property improvement or development process.




Zoning Map (pdf)




Office hours:
Monday-Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Contact Us:

Planning Department

City of Manitou Springs

606 Manitou Avenue
Manitou Springs, CO 80829


Planning Director: Wade F. Burkholder
Senior Planner: Michelle Anthony
Planner II:  Karen Berchtold
Planner I: Dylan Becker


Post logoClick here to view the Parks, Open Space, and Trails Master Plan